Brand Archetype, what does that even mean?!

Brand archetypes? What are they and what the heck do they even mean?

First, let’s start off with what an archetype is. When you search “what is an archetype” in a Google search bar, you will find a consistent definition that an archetype is “a very typical example of a certain person or thing”. All in all, it’s a statement or pattern of behavior that represents personality, and your personality dictates how you interact with others. It sets you apart from the rest! 


Psychologist Carl Jung believed all basic human motivations could be divided into 3 categories: Ego, Soul and Self; and that there are 4 archetypes in each category for a total of 12 archetypes. Each one has its own traits and values and they are universal and recognizable in all cultures and at all times.  

The twelve archetypes are: 


  • The Jester 
  • The Magician 
  • The Sage 
  • The Ruler
  • The Lover 
  • The Rebel
  • The Innocent 
  • The Hero 
  • The Regular Guy 
  • The Explorer
  • The Creator 
  • The Caregiver


Now, how does an archetype fit with a brand, you wonder? Well, giving your brand an archetype basically gives your brand an image of how they want to be seen, heard, interacted with…a personality, so a company can relate to humans. It creates a “human” feeling and is the foundation for the private and public behavior of the brand. It guides brand development, creates an emotional attraction of consumers, and represents an eternal truth, a bedrock for communication. All marketing strategies should tie back to your brand archetype. And if you didn’t know you had one, it is pretty darn easy to figure out which one you are.                                         


To learn more about each of the brand archetypes stay tuned, we will have lots more information coming up soon!  Have a question about your existing clients and their archetypes? Let’s sit down with a refreshing pint (or a coffee) and have a chat about it.